Sunday, 9 October 2016

Dan and Nat Got Married - Jon Rance

From the bestselling author of This Thirtysomething Life, Happy Endings and Sunday Dinners, comes a brilliantly funny romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Love Actually, Notting Hill and Bridget Jones. 

Marriage can be difficult. Especially when you've only just met. Meet Dan Fox, 34, an online marketing manager from Clapham, who was jilted at the altar two years ago by the love of his life and hasn’t dated since.

Nat Howard, 32, is living back at home with her parents in Dorking after her perfect boyfriend dumped her and she had to move out of his bespoke flat in Putney. 

On separate Stag and Hen weekends in Las Vegas, Dan and Nat wake up married. Both too drunk to remember what happened, they return to England and try to get on with their lives. But there was something about Nat that makes the usually cautious Dan think they should give their marriage a go. Nat’s still in love with her Ex, but maybe Dan can help mend her broken heart.

Can marriage between two relative strangers really work? And when Nat's ex-boyfriend - the gorgeous Charlie - comes back into her life, she must decide - something old or something new?

Set in London, Dan And Nat Got Married, is a funny and full of heart modern romantic comedy about marriage, relationships, and giving love a second chance.

What did I think?

There's something so very special about Dan and Nat Got Married; it has all of the perfect ingredients to make a laugh out loud, pull at your heartstrings, not too mushy kind of love story.  I loved it from the very first chapter and I had so many laugh out loud moments that I had several visits from my old evil friend, the hiccups.

I wasn't really sure what to expect when I started this as it is the first book I have read by Jon Rance, but I quickly settled into the book as if I was meeting up with an old friend.  The writing style is so humorous, yet so true to life that you can imagine this happening in real life.  It seems so far fetched for strangers to end up married after meeting on drunken trips to Vegas but I bet it has happened on many occasions.  Once they get over the initial shock and horror, it becomes apparent that perhaps Dan and Nat were meant to meet, fall in love and get married after all - they just missed out the falling in love bit and went straight on to marriage!

I loved seeing the relationship between Dan and Nat grow, with the encouragement of their friends who were witnesses at the wedding in Vegas.  Friends who might have also taken the plunge had they stayed in Vegas a bit longer.  There seemed to be a laugh in every chapter but with every up there is always a down; enter the exes to trample over the young shoots of feelings that Dan and Nat were cultivating.  I was mentally shouting 'noooooo Nat' when her ex, Charlie, came back on the scene.

Chapters alternated between Dan and Nat and although it is a tried and tested method, in this instance I think it was brilliantly done. Jon Rance has written from both the male and female perspectives and captured both of their individual characters perfectly.  It has left me eager to read Jon Rance's back catalogue and I actually wonder how I have not read any of his books before.

Dan and Nat Got Married gets a definite 5 out of 5 from me - I'd give it more if I could.  Put your exercise DVDs away and read Dan and Nat Got Married instead - it'll give you a better tummy muscle workout with all the belly laughs you are sure to have.

Many thanks to Jon Rance for putting a smile on my face by sending me this e-book in exchange for an honest review.  Look out for my interview with Jon Rance later in the week.

My rating:

Buy it from Amazon

No comments:

Post a Comment