Saturday, 14 July 2018

BLOG TOUR: Confetti & Confusion (Paradise Cookery School Book 2) - Daisy James


The Paradise Cookery School is officially open!
Stepping in for a celebrity chef, Millie Harper is feeling the pressure to make the first ever Paradise Cookery School classes a dazzling success and ensure that bride-to-be Imogen and friends have an unforgettable experience.
Meanwhile, Millie is trying to play it cool around handsome estate manager Zach Barker. But whenever he is near Millie cannot fail to notice the chemistry between them – until someone from Zach’s past arrives and any potential romance seems out of the question.
When disaster strikes and the wedding is in jeopardy, Millie realises she may have to go above and beyond to make sure the school is a success. Can Millie manage to create a day that dreams are made of, and will she find a way to tell Zach how she feels?

Allow yourself to be transported to the balmy St Lucian sunshine by his uplifting summer read – perfect for fans of Jenny Oliver and Sarah Morgan


What did I think?

Sunshine and Secrets was my first Daisy James book and I enjoyed it so much that I couldn’t wait to slap on my factor 50 and head back to St Lucia for another instalment of the Paradise Cookery School.  Although Confetti & Confusion is the second book in the series, it can definitely be read as a standalone as Daisy James makes sure to include superb colourful introductions to all of her fabulous characters.  As I have read the first book, Sunshine and Secrets, I greeted these warm and friendly characters like old friends.

Confetti & Confusion picks up right where Sunshine and Secrets left off as the shiny new kitchen of the Paradise Cookery School opens for business.  Amelia (Millie) Harper and St Lucian native, Ella, worked so hard to get the kitchen ready and now the fun can begin.  The first customer is a bridal party, and while Imogen and the hens are cooking up chocolatey creations in the kitchen, Alex and the stags partake in some testosterone fuelled events like quad-biking.  Anything can happen, and often does, with Mishap Millie around but luckily hunky estate manager Zach is around to pick Millie up when she falls (literally).

Millie’s feelings for Zach have become more intense in Confetti & Confusion and every day she spends with him mends her broken heart a little more.  Millie’s stay on the island is only temporary and she is adamant that she doesn’t want a holiday romance but maybe Zach doesn’t either, only Millie is too insecure to find out.  As they spend more time together it is clear to the reader, if not to Millie, that Zach has feelings for her too but just when you think ‘the moment’ is approaching, Zach’s ex appears on the scene.  Millie retreats at the speed of light when it appears that Zach is back with Chloe and my heart sank for her but sometimes appearances can be deceptive.

When a fire in the hotel kitchen destroys the wedding cake and the wedding planner is nowhere to be found, Millie is determined to make sure that Imogen and Alex’s dream wedding goes as planned.  Well I say dream wedding, but it’s more Imogen’s mum’s dream wedding as Imogen and Alex would have been happy to get married at home in their local parish church.  As more things go wrong for the couple it looks like someone is out to sabotage their wedding…but why? 

Although I would have liked a bit more scheming and intrigue around the mystery of the wedding sabotage, this unexpected addition does manage to add more depth and drama to the story and sets Confetti & Confusion apart from a twee hearts and flowers chick-lit book.  It’s testament to the way that Daisy James writes a book so full of heart without leaving an overly saccharine taste in your mouth and that’s no easy feat when there are delicious recipes being described so beautifully that I could almost smell the chocolate!  Thankfully, Millie's story is far from over so I can't wait to jet off to St Lucia again soon. 

Confetti & Confusion is a mouth-watering, sunny delight; definitely a book to pack in your suitcase for your summer holiday this year!

I chose to read an ARC and this is my honest and unbiased opinion.

My rating:





Buy links:
Apple Books (UK)




About the author:

Daisy James is a Yorkshire girl transplanted to the north east of England. She loves writing stories with strong heroines and swift-flowing plotlines. When not scribbling away in her summerhouse, she spends her time sifting flour and sprinkling sugar and edible glitter. She loves gossiping with friends over a glass of something pink and fizzy or indulging in a spot of afternoon tea – china plates and teacups are a must.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/daisyjamesbooks/


Follow the tour:

No comments:

Post a comment