Saturday, 8 August 2020

BLOG TOUR: Say No More (Sacramento #2) - Karen Rose


Perfect for fans of James Patterson and Karin Slaughter, this is the second gripping instalment of the Sacramento series from Sunday Times bestseller Karen Rose. An explosive crime thriller, Say No More will keep you gripped until the final page.

If they ever catch you, say nothing. Admit nothing. Never tell.

Mercy Callahan never thought she'd be able to talk about her past. When she arrives in Sacramento to make peace with her brother Gideon, and to help find the brutal cult that took away her childhood, she is finally ready to talk. But when Ephraim Burton - the man who made her life a living hell - follows her there, she realises she might never be safe. 

Rafe Sokolov would do anything to have Mercy back in his life and would go to any length to protect her. But when it becomes apparent that Ephraim is more determined than ever to get Mercy back, even Rafe might not be able to stop the trail of destruction he leaves in his wake. As Ephraim draws near, it's clear it's not just Mercy who is in danger; those closest to her are firmly in his sights.

Will Mercy sacrifice herself to help bring Ephraim down? Or will he finally get what he's always wanted...


What did I think?

Karen Rose is one of those authors where you don't even read the book blurb before buying her new book as you know it's going to brilliant.  I'm guilty of that too as I didn't realise that Say No More is the second book in the Sacramento series (and I haven't yet read Say You're Sorry), but Karen Rose slips in enough recaps for new readers so you don't even notice that you've missed the first book in the series.

Say No More is a chunky read (the hardback is 583 pages) but it's so gripping that time flies when you're reading and I only reluctantly put it down to rest my weary hands.  Mercy Callahan is an unlucky lady: she escaped from a cult, escaped the clutches of a serial killer and now her cult 'husband' wants her back.  Rafe Sokolov rescued Mercy from a serial killer and provides the law enforcement love interest that you would expect in a Karen Rose book.

There is so much going on in the book that I could write about but I don't want to give any of the plot away, so I just want to highlight some major points that I enjoyed: the cult and family.  The cult story is brilliant, it's always intriguing and slightly sinister when cults are involved as they make up their own rules to suit them.  Eden has zero tolerance where escapees are concerned and the graveyard bears the crosses to prove it.  With Ephraim hunting Mercy, I was kept on the edge of my seat as he leaves a trail of dead bodies in his wake.  The Sokolov family reminded me of the Reagans in Blue Bloods as Rafe and his siblings all have some links to law enforcement and they all come together around the dinner table, especially for a slice of Irina's birds milk cake.

Filled with danger and brimming with tension, Say No More is a gripping and compelling read that will entertain and delight both new and long-standing Karen Rose fans.  

I chose to read an ARC and this is my honest and unbiased opinion.

My rating:

Buy it from:
Hive.co.uk




About the author:


Karen Rose was introduced to suspense and horror at the tender age of eight when she accidentally read Poe’s The Pit and The Pendulum and was afraid to go to sleep for years. She now enjoys writing books that make other people afraid to go to sleep. Karen lives in Florida with her family, their cat, Bella, and two dogs, Loki and Freya. When she’s not writing, she enjoys reading, and her new hobby – knitting.

Social Media:




Follow the tour:

1 comment: