Thursday, 8 October 2015

The Bad Things - Mary-Jane Riley




A darkly compelling psychological thriller, full of twists and turns, perfect for fans of THE WICKED GIRLS by Alex Marwood and THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT by Kate Hamer.

Alex Devlin’s life changed forever fifteen years ago when her sister Sasha's two small children were snatched in broad daylight. Little Harry’s body was found a few days later, but Millie’s remains were never discovered.

Now Jackie Wood, jailed as an accessory to the twins’ murder, has been released, her conviction quashed by the Appeal Court. Convinced Jackie can reveal where Millie is buried, Alex goes to meet her.

But the unexpected information Wood reveals shocks Alex to the core and threatens to uncover the dark secret she has managed to keep under wraps for the past fifteen years. Because in the end, can we ever really know what is in the hearts of those closest to us?

What did I think?

This was a fantastic book - it was absolutely compelling reading and I got totally carried away, reading late into the night.  The chapters are quite short so just one more chapter very easily became just ten more chapters!  There is so much I could say about this book but to do so I'd have to reveal some spoilers so I'm not going to reference the story in my review.  This really is an astounding debut that manages to simultaneously create feelings of shock and empathy.

I loved the way it was written, it was so multidimensional showing all aspects of the case and leaving no stone unturned.  I enjoyed every single page, from the story of the twins' family to the policewoman who found little Harry's body and the effect it had on her own life.  There are so many unexpected moments in this book that it kept me hooked throughout and ensured that the pages kept on turning until everything had been revealed.

I wasn't surprised to learn that Mary-Jane Riley has a journalism background.  This book is written in true investigative style and both female leads had amazing depth of character.  Alex is a journalist writing for magazines, in a similar vein to Mary-Jane Riley, and Kate is a detective inspector but I felt that both characters were well developed, instantly likeable and, most of all, believable.

There are shocks, twists and disturbing scenes - a brilliant psychological read that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

I received this e-book from the publisher, Killer Reads, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:




No comments:

Post a comment