Monday, 13 June 2016

The Sister - Louise Jensen



"I did something terrible Grace. I hope you can forgive me ..." 

Grace hasn't been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie's last words, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie's. It soon becomes clear there was a lot she didn't know about her best friend. 

When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie's father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie's sister steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family, and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan's home. 

But something isn't right. Things disappear, Dan's acting strangely and Grace is sure that someone is following her. Is it all in Grace's mind? Or as she gets closer to discovering the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger? 

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie ...or was there? 

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go, and The Girl With No Past


What did I think?

I couldn't resist delving straight into this book after I saw the cover of a striking pink envelope against a black background.  There's just something so very dark and mysterious about it and the dark, mysterious theme continues inside the book.  With alternating 'then' and 'now' chapters it's a very quick read as you simply can't put it down!

Charlie and Grace are best friends at school and they decide to bury a memory box and make a promise that the pair of them will open it together when they are older.  When Charlie passes away suddenly, the promise is broken as Grace is left to open the memory box on her own.  What will Grace find inside the box?  With Charlie's unstable Mum, Lexie, blaming Grace for her death I was eager to find out what on earth could have happened but that's only half the story.

As Grace struggles to cope after Charlie's death she, and her partner, Dan, set up a campaign to find Charlie's father.  Surprisingly quickly, Grace finds Anna who claims to be Charlie's sister.  Of course I was naturally suspicious of Anna - she may look like Charlie but she seems to have a hidden agenda.  As Anna steps up her game with Grace I wouldn't have been surprised to find a bunny boiling on the stove.  Who is she?  What does she want?  These questions and more kept the pages turning late into the night.

There's so much going on in this book that my eyes were racing down the pages so I could unearth the whole story as quickly as possible.  There are twists and turns that had me guessing right up to the very end and I had tears in my eyes as I relived Charlie's last moments.

The Sister is an exceptional debut; just when I thought I had something worked out another twist popped up to shout 'aha you're wrong'.  It's an addictive page-turner that begs time and again for just one more chapter until the whole book has been devoured and thoroughly enjoyed.

I received this ebook from the publisher, Bookouture, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:




Buy it from Amazon

No comments:

Post a comment