Wednesday 20 April 2016

All the Skies I Will Not See: A Novella (A Touch of Cinnamon Book 2) - Petra March

It takes 7 seconds to crash.
It takes 3 seconds to fall in love.
It takes an infinite moment to let go.

David Medwin's life is fading away, and all he can think about is what it means to be alive.

An intense story about life, death and, most of all, love.

What did I think?

Being the second book in the series, I read this book straight after A Veil of Glass and Rain.  All the Skies I Will Not See tells the story of Eagan's friend, David.  It alternates between David's past and the moments leading up to his death, leaving the obligatory lump in my throat. 

I thought A Veil of Glass and Rain was emotionally charged, but that was nothing compared to All the Skies I Will Not See.  From the beginning, I knew I was going to be upset at the end but I thought, "well it's a short story, how emotionally invested can I be?"  The answer is "VERY!".

Petra March has written this novella in such a way that the reader experiences David's life flashing before his eyes in the moments leading up to his death.  We experience his loves, his losses, his hopes and his fears, so it's little wonder that I was left with a feeling of sadness at his passing.

I do think there is an underlying message in this book; about being happy in your own skin and not worrying about what other people think of you.  To quote the cliché, All the Skies I Will Not See reminds us to "live every day as if it's your last".  All the Skies I Will Not See is a poignant and beautifully written story of love, life and death and how fragile we really are.

I received this e-book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:

Buy it from Amazon

No comments:

Post a Comment