Wednesday 7 August 2019

BLOG TOUR: Chameleon (DCI Jack Mason series Book 4) - Michael K Foster

It was meant to be a harmless adventure…or so he thought.

When a ten-year-old boy playing hooky from school sees a young woman’s body hanging from a tree, a man at the scene gives chase.

Still recovering from near fatal injuries, Jack Mason is sent to investigate. He knows the boy’s life is in danger, but that’s the least of his worries. There’s a much darker side to this investigation, and one that threatens to change many people’s lives.

What really happened in the woods that day? What dark secrets was the dead woman hiding?

And who, or what, is Chameleon?

You will be hooked from the start by this gripping crime thriller. There’s tension, suspense, and a plot full of unexpected twists and turns. Order your copy today.

Don’t miss out on the rest of the series:
The Wharf Butcher (Book 1)
Satan’s Beckoning (Book 2)
The Suitcase Man (Book 3)
Chameleon (Book 4)

What did I think?

I've been really enjoying the DCI Jack Mason series, set in my native North East, so I was very excited when I heard that a new instalment was coming out.  I think this is Jack's toughest case yet as he's on the tail of a cunning Russian assassin who will stop at nothing to complete his assignment.

Recovering from his run in with The Suitcase Man, Jack has been assigned light duties until he is passed fit.  As if that isn't bad enough, ambitious DI Gamble has been called in from Middlesbrough to take over Jack's role.  Keen to make her mark, DI Gamble and Jack lock horns a few times and I admired his ability to keep his cool, although Gamble plays a little dirtier and remembers the incident slightly different to me.  I really liked this aspect of the story where drive and ambition can cause people to lose sight of the big picture.  It's always better to work together but some people will do anything to further their career.

10 year old Martin Kennedy is the target of Russian hit-man, Chameleon.  Martin accidentally stumbled upon Chameleon neutralising his real target, a local barrister investigating a money laundering scheme.  Unable to complete his assignment until all loose ends are tied up, Martin is taken into police protection while the police hunt for Chameleon.  Chameleon is no amateur though, so he always seems to be one step ahead and it was quite scary how he managed to obtain information so easily.  It just shows that there is always someone willing to gossip and inflate their own importance.

Michael K Foster has taken his crime thrillers up a notch with the Russian spy aspect.  I find the DCI Jack Mason books fast paced already but Chameleon left me breathless.  Set in the North East of England, it got closer to home than ever before with a car chase through my neighbouring housing estate.  It never gets old reading about places you know in books and the description of the scene in Marsden was fantastic; I know the geography of the area so it's easy for me to visualise it but the picture was painted so vividly that I really felt as if I was standing on Marsden beach myself.

This fast-paced, edge of your seat international crime thriller set on Tyneside is my favourite DCI Jack Mason book so far; I would have read it in one sitting if I hadn't had to sleep.  Don't worry if you haven't read any of the series yet, you can definitely read this as a standalone but I guarantee that it will make you want to read more DCI Jack Mason, especially with the little teaser at the end.  I can't wait for Mason and Carlisle's next adventure.

I chose to read an ARC and this is my honest and unbiased opinion.

My rating:

Buy it from Amazon

About the author:

Michael K Foster has been writing crime thriller novels since 2006, all of them based in and around the North East of England. His bestselling debut novel, ‘The Wharf Butcher,’ was released in 2015 and offers a unique insight into this rugged landscape. He has now written four full-length novels featuring the hard-hitting DCI Jack Mason and local criminal profiler David Carlisle. His latest book in the series, ‘Chameleon,’ is scheduled for release in June 2019.

Michael was born in Plymouth, England. After ten years’ service in the British Army, he moved to Newcastle where he gained a master’s degree. A former Magistrate, he now writes full time and lives with his family in County Durham.

Goodreads Author Page:

Follow the tour:

1 comment:

  1. Thanks so much for kicking off the blog tour today Michelle x