Saturday, 19 May 2018

BLOG TOUR: My Husband's Lies - Caroline England


Do you really know your friends?

On the afternoon of Nick and Lisa’s wedding, their close friend is found poised on a hotel window ledge, ready to jump.

As the shock hits their friendship group, they soon realise that none of them are being as honest with themselves – or with each other – as they think.

And there are secrets lurking that could destroy everything.

Tense, disturbing and clever, My Husband’s Lies is a breath-taking read, perfect for fans of Lucy Clarke and Erin Kelly.

What did I think?

Wow!  This book is SO good.  It's my first Caroline England book but I did buy a copy of her debut, Beneath the Skin, a little while ago; I just haven't had the chance to read it yet.  I will be remedying that shortly if My Husband's Lies is anything to go by.  One thing I would say before reading it is to write down the names of the characters as the four couples are introduced in quick succession so it would be easy to forget who was who.

There is a 'blip' on Nick and Lisa's wedding day in the form of one of their guests balanced precariously on a window ledge.  I felt like I was in a cartoon as my eyes popped out of my head - what a cracking start.  As we find out more about this group of friends, we can perhaps make sense of the window ledge scene but there is more to this story than first meets the eye.

Dan, Will, Nick and Jen are friends from school who have stuck together through the years as part of the renowned A Team.  Boy, do they have some secrets between them and we get to examine their lives through a microscope thanks to the fantastic story created by Caroline England.  Jen was always the honorary boy of the group but as they grew up and each of the boys fell in love with her, one of them captured her heart.  That's all over now that Jen is happily married, isn't it?  Dan is about to become a father but he feels an attraction that he can't resist and it isn't his partner, Geri, who is causing his heart to race.  After a throw away comment at his wedding, Nick uncovers a family secret that could become an obsession and destroy his marriage to Lisa before it even begins.  Will, in my opinion, is the linchpin of the group but a job offer could see him jetting off to the Caribbean and fracturing the A-Team as we know and love it...or is there a threat to the group from another source?  This is the point where you would hear the dramatic drum beats of the Eastenders theme tune.

My Husband's Lies is a soap opera in a book.  At first I thought it was like Friends but then it became apparent that so much drama likened it to Cold Feet with the almost 'who shot JR' tension of Dallas.  I was surprisingly emotional towards the end as I had come to think of the group as my own friends and I was quite tearful at the thought of the group being split by the Atlantic Ocean.  Then BOOM! Caroline England played her ace and I gasped out loud and sat open mouthed as I read the final scenes.  If this had been a play, I would have stood and applauded whilst exclaiming 'bravo'!

Dark, gripping and utterly, utterly compelling you will struggle to tear your eyes away from the pages of My Husband's Lies.  With a few husbands to choose from, which one is lying?  Or is it all of them?  An absolutely brilliant book; I was captivated from first page to last.

I chose to read an ARC and this is my honest and unbiased opinion.

My rating:




Buy it from Amazon



Follow the tour:


No comments:

Post a comment