Thursday, 4 February 2021

BLOG TOUR: The Dressmaker of Paris - Georgia Kaufmann


I need to tell you a story, ma chère. My story.

Rosa Kusstatscher has built a global fashion empire upon her ability to find the perfect outfit for any occasion. But tonight, as she prepares for the most important meeting of her life, her usual certainty eludes her.

What brought her to this moment? As she struggles to select her dress and choose the right shade of lipstick, Rosa begins to tell her incredible story. The story of a poor country girl from a village high in the mountains of Italy. Of Nazi occupation and fleeing in the night. Of hope and heartbreak in Switzerland; glamour and love in Paris. Of ambition and devastation in Rio de Janeiro; success and self-discovery in New York.

A life spent running, she sees now. But she will run no longer.

Breathtaking and utterly enthralling, The Dressmaker of Paris is perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Kate Morton and Dinah Jefferies.


What did I think?

This book is as beautiful inside as out; just take another look at that stunning cover and let your eyes devour every little detail on there.  I usually read historical fiction at a slower pace than other genres but I was so completely enthralled by Rosa's story from the very start that I couldn't put the book down.

I adored the structure of the novel with chapter headings relating to an item that Rosa is using to get ready for her meeting but also causing her to reminisce about her past.  What a past Rosa has!  After escaping her Nazi occupied Italian village, Rosa has travelled the world and taken it by storm.  Rosa's life is not all glitz and glamour as she suffers more than her fair share of heartbreak but it's her strength and resilience that impressed and inspired me.

It soon becomes clear what sort of meeting Rosa is preparing for and I couldn't help but read most of the book with a lump in my throat.  Life can be so unfair at times but it's how you cope with it that counts; Rosa tackles each of life's hurdles with so much elegance and grace that it's awe-inspiring.  I think we could all learn a thing or two from Rosa.

Georgia Kaufmann's writing is so beautiful; her prose seems to flow like a babbling brook taking the reader on a journey over hills and vale.  Everything is described so vividly that I could easily visualise the stunning scenery and the designer gowns and I swear that I could even smell the fragrance of Miss Dior.  

So very elegant and completely captivating, The Dressmaker of Paris is a sweeping story of love and loss and a wonderful piece of 20th century historical fiction set in the world of fashion.

Many thanks to the publisher for sending me an ARC to read and review for the blog tour; this is my honest and unbiased opinion.

My rating:

Buy it from:




Follow the tour:

No comments:

Post a comment